National Executive Committee 2022/23

Co-Convener: Cllr Graham Campbell (Glasgow Provan)

Graham is a founder member of SNP Socialists since joining the SNP in June 2016. In October 2019 he was elected to SNP National Executive Committee (NEC) as the party’s first ever National Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Convener and was re-elected in November 2020.  Elected as Glasgow’s and Scotland’s first African Caribbean SNP Councillor in May 2017 – representing the Springburn/Robroyston ward – he has been an active revolutionary socialist for 30 years. He is Musician’s Union activist elected to its Scottish & Northern Ireland Committee December 2019. He was an STUC Congress MU Delegate in November 2020.

Primarily known for his anti-racism work through campaigns like Justice for Sheku Bayoh, Black Lives Matter Scotland and as Project Leader of Flag Up Scotland Jamaica, Graham has a track record of grassroots campaigning work, refugee and asylum seeker solidarity and housing rights campaigns. He is a key African Caribbean community organiser in Glasgow and Edinburgh who co-founded Africans for an Independent Scotland (AFIS) during the 2014 independence referendum campaign.

His interests include Black History and Reparative Justice, in which he is a regular public speaker on Scotland’s slavery legacy; and on issues of independence and socialism, race, gender, and class.

Co-Convener: Kat Cary (Edinburgh Central)

Kat was elected co-convener in autumn 2022. She is the membership secretary of Edinburgh Central branch and previously served on the SNP Socialists executive as National Secretary.

Originally hailing from Milwaukee, Wisconsin –the American city of socialism – Kat enlisted in the US Navy at 19 and has lived all over the world. In 2016 she moved with her family to Edinburgh. Not long after moving to Scotland, she soon became active in grassroots Yes campaigning. 

National Secretary: Cllr Moray Grant

Membership Secretary: Tom Ullathorne

Minutes Secretary: Janis Wilson (Prestonpans, Seton, Gosford SNP)

Janis is a health care worker and has been active in the party in East Lothian constituency for a number of years. She is also Convener of SNP Friends of Palestine.

Janis was elected the Executive in 2019 and has previously served as SNP Socialists Co-Convener.

Treasurer: Andy Stuart

Political Education Officer: Craig Lundie (East Kilbride SNP)

Craig was a long standing PCS activist in HMRC who is now working as a Child Development Officer for a local authority. He is an active member of the SNP Trade Union Group executive having previously served in both Secretary and Organiser officer roles.

Craig is a strong advocate of Just Transition work linking trade unionists and environmental activists around defence, oil and fossil fuel to convert these jobs into renewables industries.

Craig is a founder member of the SCOT E3 Energy, Employment and Environment) campaign.

Co-Media Officer: Olaf Stando (Burntisland, Kinghorn and Western Kirkcaldy SNP)

Co-Media Officer: Stephanie Melnick (Southside Central SNP)

Stephanie is an autistic, asexual activist focused on disability rights and climate justice. She has been a member of the SNP since the age of 18 and has held multiple positions within local branches and numerous party affiliates. She is currently also the treasurer for Out for Independence, Neurodiversity Education Officer at the Disabled Members’ Group, and secretary of her local branch.

Within SNP Socialists, she is the editor of the Red Thistle blog. She uses both she/they pronouns.

Campaigns Officer: Kate Monahan

Women’s Officer: Suzanne McLaughlin

BAME Officer: Ruth Ann McCalla

LGBT Officer: Erin Lux (Glasgow Kelvin)

Disabled Members’ Officer – Cllr Laura Brennan-Whitefield (Ayr North SNP)

Youth Officer: Jess Wilson (Glasgow University) 

Jess is a student at Glasgow University – originally from East Lothian she was appointed SNP Socialists Executive at its November meeting. She has a strong interest in equalities and rights.

Jess become Youth Officer after meeting our officers at University Cafe – one of the places where the famous Glasgow University Student Nationalist Association – one of the pro-independence groups which went on to form the SNP in 1934 – was founded!

Regional Reps

Central Scotland: Neil Scott, Cllr Alistair Fulton
Parami Macmillan
Highlands & Islands: 
Barry Weiland-Jarvis
Mid-Scotland & Fife:
North East: 
Sandra MacRae, Stephen Taylor
South of Scotland: 
Roland Chaplain, Cllr Mark Dixon
West of Scotland:
 Debra Torrance
Ordinary Members: 
Simon Barrow

Elected Members

Anne McLaughlin MP (Glasgow North East)

Anne was elected for the second time in December 2019 as SNP MP for Glasgow North East having originally won the seat in 2015 with a record breaking swing from Labour of 39%. She has been a longtime conference favourite and a stalwart SNP and Independence activist for 30 years leading the debate on Scottish National Infrastructure Company. Anne was appointed SNP Westminster Group frontbencher for Women and Equalities in 2019 – making interventions on Universal Credit, Pensions Credit inequality and Black Lives Matter before replacing Joanna Cherry as SNP Spokesperson for Justice and Home Affairs in February 2021.

Chris Stephens MP (Glasgow South West)

Chris was re-elected for the 3rd time as SNP MP for Glasgow South West in December 2019. He is a long standing trade unionist previously working as a full-time UNISON official in local government. He pioneered efforts to put through a Trade Union rights bill in the previous parliament and campaigns on human rights and against poverty and inequality.