SNP Socialists National Executive Committee (NEC) 2020

National Co-Convener : Janis Wilson (Prestonpans, Seton, Gosford SNP)Janis Wilson

Janis is a health care worker and has been active in the party in East Lothian constituency for a number of years. She is also Convener of SNP Friends of Palestine.

Janis was elected the Executive in 2019 and was unanimously elected as one of the two SNP Socialists Co-Conveners.

Co-Convener & National Campaigns Director : Cllr Graham Campbell (Glasgow Provan SNP)

graham-blm-profile-picGraham is a founder member of SNP Socialists since joining the SNP in June 2016. In October 2019 he was elected to SNP National Executive Committee (NEC) as the party’s first ever National Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Convener and was re-elected in November 2020.  Elected as Glasgow’s and Scotland’s first African Caribbean SNP Councillor in May 2017 – representing the Springburn/Robroyston ward – he has been an active revolutionary socialist for 30 years. He is Musician’s Union activist elected to its Scottish & Northern Ireland Committee December 2019. He was an STUC Congress MU Delegate in November 2020.

Primarily known for his anti-racism work through campaigns like Justice for Sheku Bayoh, Black Lives Matter Scotland and as Project Leader of Flag Up Scotland Jamaica, Graham has a track record of grassroots campaigning work, refugee and asylum seeker solidarity and housing rights campaigns. He is a key African Caribbean community organiser in Glasgow and Edinburgh who co-founded Africans for an Independent Scotland (AFIS) during the 2014 independence referendum campaign.

His interests include Black History and Reparative Justice, in which he is a regular public speaker on Scotland’s slavery legacy; and on issues of independence and socialism, race, gender, and class.

Vice Convener: Chris McCusker (Eastwood SNP, East Renfrewshire)


Chris has been a member of the SNP since 2013 where he campaigned (successfully) to oust Jim Murphy, before that he was a Labour activist and, latterly, member of the Scottish Socialist Party. Chris is has been on SNP Socialists executive since 2017.

Having been a Trade Union Rep the entirety of his working life with USDAW and GMB, it was while on the campaign trail for MP Kirsten Oswald that Chris first met his “comrade and mentor” Chris Stephens MP, who informed him that the Party has its own Trade Union Group. As a result, Chris continues to serve on the NEC of the SNP Trade Union Group.  He is still the Trade Union Liason Officer for the Eastwood SNP branch. He is also on the National Executive of the ‘SNP Friends of Palestine’ group.

As well as a humanitarian aid worker for Eastwood Refugee Aid, Chris is also involved with ‘Walk a Mile in my Shoes’ – a charity that helps raise awareness of mental health. He is also carer to his elder brother who suffers from mental health issues. Chris stood unsuccessfully for SOAC in 2018 Conference and for NEC in 2019.

Elected Politicians in support –

Anne McLaughlin MP (Glasgow North East)
Anne official photograph Holyrood

Anne was elected for the second time in December 2019 as SNP MP for Glasgow North East having originally won the seat in 2015 with a record breaking swing from Labour of 39%. She has been a longtime conference favourite and a stalwart SNP and Independence activist for 30 years leading the debate on Scottish National Infrastructure Company. Anne was appointed SNP Westminster Group frontbencher for Women and Equalities in 2019 – making interventions on Universal Credit, Pensions Credit inequality and Black Lives Matter before replacing Joanna Cherry as SNP Spokesperson for Justice and Home Affairs in February 2021.

DSC_1570Chris Stephens MP (Glasgow South West)

Chris was re-elected for the 3rd time as SNP MP for Glasgow South West in December 2019. He is a long standing trade unionist previously working as a full-time UNISON official in local government. He pioneered efforts to put through a Trade Union rights bill in the previous parliament and campaigns on human rights and against poverty and inequality.

Fiona Robertson NEC

Secretary: Fiona Robertson (Aberdeen Central SNP)

Fiona is a disability rights activist and was elected SNP National Women and Equalities Convener in 2018. Having served on the SNP Disabled Members Group (DMG) Executive, Fiona campaigned strongly for the current changes to the new SNP Constitution ratified at SNP Conference 2018 which recognised the self organisation of groups with protected characteristics.

These changes gave the SNP DMG and other affiliated groups Our for Independence, Scottish Asians for Independence, SNP BAME Network and created a National Equalities Conference. As a result of her hard work, Fiona was elected to the SNP National Executive Committee (NEC) as the party’s first ever National Equalities Convener in October 2019 when that role was separated from that of Women’s Convener.

She plays leading organising role within the Aberdeen Independence Movement and has a strong commitment to environmental justice against the impacts of climate change.

Political Education Officer: Craig Lundie (East Kilbride SNP)Craig Lundie at PCS 2018 crop

Craig was a long standing PCS activist in HMRC who is now working as a Child Development Officer for a local authority. He is an active member of the SNP Trade Union Group executive having previously served in both Secretary and Organiser officer roles.

Craig is a strong advocate of Just Transition work linking trade unionists and environmental activists around defence, oil and fossil fuel to convert these jobs into renewables industries.

Craig is a founder member of the SCOT E3 Energy, Employment and Environment) campaign.

Youth Officer: Jess Wilson (Glasgow University) 

Jess Wilson at Conference Jess is a student at Glasgow University – originally fron East Lothian she was appointed SNP Socialistrs Executive at its November meeting. She has a strong interest in equalities and rights.

Jess become Youth Officer after meeting our officers at University Cafe – one of the places where the famous Glasgow University Student Nationalist Association – one of the pro-independence groups which went on to form the SNP in 1934 – was founded!  

Treasurer: VACANT

Social Media Officer: Simon Barrow (Edinburgh Leith Walk SNP)

Equalities & Human Rights Convener – Cllr Laura Brennan-Whitefield (Ayr North SNP)

Women’s Officer: VACANT

BAME Officer: Roza Salih (Glasgow Pollok SNP)


Director of Events & Fundraising:  Al Shaw (Govan SNP)

NEC MEMBERSSNP Socialists Executive elected 2018 are:

Cllr Graham Campbell (Glasgow Provan SNP – Co-Convener & National Campaigns Organiser)

Chris McCusker (Eastwood SNP – Vice Convener)

Anne McLaughlin MP (Glasgow Provan SNP )

John Adams (Cunninghame South SNP)

Cllr Laura Brennan-Whitefield (Ayr North SNP)

Simon Barrow (Edinburgh Leith Walk SNP – Lothian rep)

Kim Dams (Castle Douglas SNP – South of Scotland rep)

Cllr Gordon Murray (Skye & Lochaber SNP – Highland & Islands rep)

Craig Lundie (East Kilbride SNP – Political Education Officer)

Fiona Robertson (Aberdeen Central SNP – North East rep)

Elected March 2020 – Janis Wilson (Co-Convener – Preston, Seton, Gosford)

Morag Robertson Smith (Edinburgh Morningside)

Coopted November 2020 – Jess Wilson ( Glasgow University GUSNA – Youth Officer)

Cllr Laura Brennan-Whitefield (Ayr North SNP – Equalities & Human Rights Officer)

Coopted December 2020 – Al Shaw (Govan SNP – Fundraising & Events Coordinator)

Co-opted January 2021 – Roza Salih (Glasgow Pollok SNP – BAME Officer)

Elected January 2021 – Cllr Graham Campbell (Glasgow Provan SNP – Co-Convener)